God’s Treasure in Clay Jars

But we have this treasure in jars of clay, to show that the surpassing power belongs to God and not to us (2 Corinthians 4:7)

This verse cuts two ways.  One the one hand it tells us that we are dispensable—this keeps us humble.  On the other hand it tells us that God is pleased to use us—this gives God the glory and not us.  I came across an interesting anecdote on our dispensability:

I was 11 in 1963, and up till then, the single greatest event that I knew for the advancement of black people in the United States was the election of John F. Kennedy. We felt he was our president. That’s because he seemed to be concerned about civil rights and integration. Just the fact that he would mention it was monumental because black America existed in prominent obscurity. It was like we were there, but we weren’t there. So Kennedy was the most important thing to my young child’s mind, so much so that I felt like he was a friend, a part of the family. Then, in November ’63, he was assassinated, and it was the first time I had the experience of losing someone.

So anyway, I’m a kid, right, and one of the things that happened in the ensuing days is that television as I knew it ceased. Every station, every hour of every day, was talking about the assassination. And there’s only so much a kid can deal with that. But I was still watching because that’s the nature of television: obsession. At one point, I see this really tall guy standing next to Jackie Kennedy. I turned to my father and said, “Dad, who’s that?” And he said, “That’s the president.” And I said, “No, Dad. John F. Kennedy was the president.” He said, “Yeah, and the moment he died, this man became president.” And I just looked at him and said, “That fast?” And he snapped his fingers: “Like that.”

And I realized that’s how important the most important man in the world was. He could be replaced in an instant. It was a lesson I never forgot. In fact, I was talking to a friend the other day. He was telling me, “I’m leaving my job, but I gotta stay because I have to help them blah blah.” And I said, “You don’t have to do anything. You leave, and they’ll take care of their own business; they don’t need you. You may want to stay. You may want to help them. But never make the mistake of thinking that you’re so important that the world can’t live without you, because no one is that important, ever.”
(Walter Mosley, “Anybody can be Replaced in Under a Second,” Reader’s Digest [February 2012], 147).

Just as presidents are dispensable, so are kings.  Acts 13:36 puts it this way,

For David, after he had served the purpose of God in his own generation, fell asleep and was laid with his fathers and saw corruption (Acts 13:36).

So think you’re indispensable?  Think again.  At the same time, we should rejoice when God shows His surpassing power in you and me to accomplish His purposes in our generation.

Not to us, O Lord, not to us, but to your name give glory (Psalm 115:1)

2 thoughts on “God’s Treasure in Clay Jars

Leave a Reply

