Radical

I just finished listening to Radical: Taking Back Your Faith from the American Dream by David Platt in an audiobook format.  I was otherwise unfamiliar with David Platt, Senior Pastor at The Church at Brook Hills in Birmingham, AL prior to listening to the book.  He is slated to be one of the plenary speakers at T4G 2012.  I found the book challenging and engaging.  Platt challenges believers to embrace the high cost of following Christ and to set aside a baptized pursuit of the American dream.  He issues a one-year “Radical Experiment” challenge at the end of the book.  Platt says some things that are widely applicable to the American church.  If Platt’s message reflects the wind of change in American Christianity, I hope it blows all across our land.   Listen to it.  Read it.  Be challenged by it.

4 thoughts on “Radical

  1. I have just begun to read the book “Radical” I had not read very far before I realized just what a powerful book this was going to be. I quickly shared about it with some friends… and we have started a FB group set aside primarily for the discussion of our reading in the book and how it has impacted our life. We start today, and will be discussing 1 chapter a week. Honestly… I “cheated” and read ahead. I am looking forward to how God will use it in my life, and the lives of those around me.

  2. Hi Amy,

    You will definitely profit from it. I found it to be insightful and challenging. I think reading it instead of listening to it (like I did) will allow to profit even more. It really challenges us to live as Christ intended us to live. It is a great book to use for group interaction, like you’re doing. I’m batting around the idea of using it for a group study or a series at church. These kind of books are good for the body of Christ. Enjoy the book and discussion!

    Doug

  3. Thanks for the recommendation. From a conversation that I’d had with a friend, I was left with the impression that this book has “social gospel” leanings. But that must not be the case if you liked it because I know you are all about the gospel!

  4. Hi Jenny,

    One could possibly argue that it is social gospel leaning, but one cannot argue Platt is advocating a social gospel. I remember thinking as I was listening to the book that he devoted a great deal of time to anecdotes related to people helping the sick and poor throughout the world, etc. I got the same sense from Francis Chan’s Crazy Love. But as I listened on, Platt navigated these waters pretty well. I considered mentioning his strong emphasis on social work in missions. But since he makes it a point to clarify that we cannot claim to do missions without the gospel, I decided to leave it out. He did so regularly and clearly enough that I think the reader will pick up on what he’s trying to say. I do think it is very difficult, if not impossible, to minister to people spiritually without ministering to them physically in many contexts, including in the US. Thanks for stopping by Jenny.

    Doug

Leave a Reply

