A Funny Thing Happened Yesterday . . .

JWs were in our neighborhood for the first time (that I can remember) in our six years of living there, two ladies.  I debated if I should talk to them or not (Proverbs 26:4 or Proverbs 26:5?).  I decided to go with Proverbs 26:5 primarily in the spirit of Jude 22-23. 

I had the upper hand doctrinally, but perhaps not spiritually.  The god of this world certainly has blinded their minds from seeing the truth about Jesus and the gospel in the Bible.  I was able to present some truths to them, that, according to them, they had never heard before. May the Holy Spirit grant them the sight to reject their false teaching and embrace the God-man Jesus Christ for their hope of heaven. 

Later in the day, I spoke briefly with our neighbor’s parents, who were in town visiting.  Our neighbor’s mother asked if I had a chance to speak with the JWs (she knows I’m a pastor).  I told her I did.  She was glad to hear that because there were a lot of verses that she wanted to use that she couldn’t recall.  I was grateful that the Lord brought to mind texts of Scripture that helped me answer their questions and also that led me to question these ladies on what they believe.  However, there have been plenty of other occasions when the right text didn’t come to mind.  So frustrating!  This scenario reminded me of an anecdote John C. Maxwell shares in an audio book I recently listened to, Leadership 101,

There’s an old saying, ‘Champions don’t become champions in the ring; they are merely recognized there.’  That’s true.  If you want to see where someone develops into a champion look into his daily routine.  Former heavyweight champ Joe Frazier stated, ‘You can map out a fight plan or a life plan but when the action starts you’re down to your reflexes. That’s where your roadwork shows.  If you cheated on that in the dark of the morning you’re getting found out now under the bright lights.’ 

The point of the illustration is clear.  Daily preparation is indispensible for the day of battle.  This is an important reminder that daily time in the word, reading, studying, and memorizing is so important.  When the battle comes, may it not be discovered that we cheated in the dark of the morning by not spending time in the word.  Rather, let’s be found ready and prepared for the battle, whether it is with JWs or sin.

2 thoughts on “A Funny Thing Happened Yesterday . . .

Leave a Reply

