Evangelism in the Not-So-Friendly Skies

I read this snippet on Amazon from a book written by Scott Berkun, Confessions of a Public Speaker (O’Reilly Media: Sebastopol, CA, 2010), 2:

I’m on a long flight from Seattle to Belgium, and the woman sitting next to me starts a conversation.  Despite hiding behind the book in my hands, I’m now forced into a common and sometimes unfortunate air-travel situation: the gamble of talking to a stranger I can’t escape from.  While it’s fun to be near someone interesting for occasional chats, being stuck to a person who will not stop talking for nine hours is my idea of [the opposite of heaven].

He’s not talking about evangelistic conversation, he’s talking about general conversation but it’s a point we should tuck away in the back of our minds.  I affirm the importance of making an effort to share the gospel with an in-flight neighbor.  I would occasionally travel for a former employer.  This afforded me some opportunities to share the gospel with fellow travelers I otherwise would not have had.  At the same time, Berkun provides some insight to airplane evangelism: let’s be wise as a serpent and realize when the window of opportunity is closed.

4 thoughts on “Evangelism in the Not-So-Friendly Skies

  1. Agreed. A captive audience doesn’t necessarily equate to a receptive audience. Graciously and humbly plant seeds as we can without doing unnecessary damage to soul winners who may come after us.

Leave a Reply

