Spurgeon on Election: “For Reasons Unknown to Me”

Here is a gem of a statement from Spurgeon on election,

I believe the doctrine of election, because I am quite sure that if God had not chosen me I should never have chosen Him; and I am sure He chose me before I was born, or else He would have never chosen me afterwards; and He must have elected me for reasons unknown to me, for I never could find any reason in myself why He should have looked upon me with special love (Spurgeon, Lectures to My Students, 227).

This a statement filled with humility and oozing with the sovereignty of God. 

It might even be worth putting on a t-shirt with a “Jonathan Edwards is My Homeboy” pin on it.

5 thoughts on “Spurgeon on Election: “For Reasons Unknown to Me”

Leave a Reply

