The Grace of the Cross

Here is an excerpt from the prayer, “The Grace of the Cross,” in The Valley of Vision: A Collection of Puritan Prayers & Devotions.  If we could only can pray this with a sincere heart, our devotion to Christ would be radically transformed.

O My Lord and Saviour, 

Thou hast also appointed a cross for me to take up and carry, a cross before thou givest me a crown.  Thou hast appointed it to be my portion, but self-love hates it, carnal reason is unreconciled to it; without the grace of patience I cannot bear it, walk with it, profit by it.  O blessed cross, what mercies dost thou bring with thee!  Thou only esteemed hateful by my rebel will, heavy because I shirk thy load.  Teach me, gracious Lord and Saviour, that with my cross thou sendest promised grace so that I may bear it patiently, that my cross is thy yoke which is easy, and thy burden which is light.

Leave a Reply

